Electrical Commission


Meetings are held once per year


  • Spencer Belon
  • John Bollweg
  • Peter Durst
  • Fire Chief Dennis Rogers
  • Jerry Sugrue

The Electrical Commission has six members including the chief electrical inspector, who is the ex officio chairman of the commission. The remaining five consist of a registered professional engineer, one an electrical contractor, one a journeyman electrician, one a representative of an inspection bureau maintained by the fire underwriters or the Fire Chief, and one representative of an electricity supply company. If there is no person willing or able to serve who is qualified under any one of these descriptions, the Mayor may appoint some other person to fill that position. All members of the commission are appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the City Council.


The electrical commission shall recommend to the City Council:

  1. Safe and practical standards and specifications for the installation, alteration and use of electrical equipment designed to meet the necessities and conditions of the locality.
  2. Reasonable rules and regulations governing the issuance of permits by the Community Development Department.
  3. Reasonable fees to be paid for the inspection by the electrical inspectors of all electrical equipment installed or altered within the City.