City Council


The City Council is made up of eight aldermen, two from each ward, and the Mayor. Elected officials who support the City Council include the City Clerk and Treasurer. Committee of the Whole chairs and vice-chairs are elected by the City Council to preside over three standing committees; Community Development, Public Safety and Finance, and Public Works and Infrastructure.

It is the duty of the City Council to be the representatives of the people of their wards at the City Council meetings. The Aldermen shall be responsible to the people of their wards and the citizens of the City for their actions at City Council meetings.

To view a list of former City of Warrenville Elected Officials, click here.

Council of Governments

The City of Warrenville has been a member of the DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference (DMMC) for decades, with Mayor Brummel and former Mayor Lund both serving as president. Several staff have sat on advisory boards for this organization. The DMMC is a council of 33 municipal governments in DuPage County. Its membership is comprised of both elected and appointed officials. The Conference serves its members and the region through the following objectives:

  • Promoting excellence in municipal government
  • Fostering intergovernmental cooperation
  • Providing research, technical assistance, training, and leadership development opportunities to members
  • Voicing municipal concerns on local, regional, state, and national issues in a variety of forums
  • Evaluating the impact of pending state and federal legislation on municipalities

The City is also a member of the following professional associations that may or may not lobby:

Metropolitan Mayors Caucus
233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60606
Illinois Municipal League
500 E. Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL 62701
Pension Fairness for Illinois Communities (PDF)
Pension Fairness White Paper
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60606
Metropolitan Planning Council
140 S. Dearborn St., Suite 1400
Chicago, IL 60603
Active Transportation Alliance
35 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 1782
Chicago, IL 60654